Buy LP
Lounge Smoke Vinyl
£29.99 Sold Out

LP in LOUNGE SMOKE Vinyl (clear marbled with smoke swirl)
Mirrorboard gatefold card with special colour blocking
12" book featuring rare photos by Anya Phillips
Liner notes by James Chance

Come contort yourself…the New York no wave classic from the Contortions is back. It’s just over 35 years since James Chance first assaulted turntables with the juddering jazz punk fusion that permeate the tracks immortalised on BUY.

Under the moniker Contortions, explosive saxophonist James Chance…aka James White, alongside several other noted New York art scene luminaries, spearheaded a sub-genre dubbed no wave; a deconstructionist approach to rock ‘n’ roll that mirrored New Yorks degradation and dissonance through avant garde compositions and articulated noise, considered by many to be the missing link between modern jazz and punk.

BUY is a bittersweet pill of funk disco nihilism, with tracks such as ‘Contort Yourself’, ‘I Don’t Want To Be Happy’ and ‘Roving Eye’ serving as testaments to how jagged, confrontational and arresting a genuinely infectious groove can be. It’s no surprise BUY’s influence is evident everywhere from Sonic Youth through to acid jazz.

35 years later, Futurismo and James Chance are proud to present the redux version of this influential LP. Fully remastered and featuring two bonus tracks recorded at a brief reformation, this LP comes on heavy 180g limited edition coloured vinyl with download. The record is encased in a mirror and neon gatefold sleeve containing a new large 12pg booklet featuring rare photography by the late great Anya Phillips and newly written text by the legendary James Chance himself. Get hip, get contorted. Don’t think just BUY.

1. Designed To Kill
2. My Infatuation
3. I Don’t Want To Be Happy
4. Anestetic
5. Contort Yourself
6. Throw Me Away
7.Roving Eye
8.Twice Removed
9. Bedroom Athlete
10. Terminal City
11. Incorrigible